Wednesday, November 25, 2020
Home Sports FIFA Best Awards To Hold 17 December

FIFA Best Awards To Hold 17 December

World football governing body FIFA has announced that the Best FIFA Football Awards 2020 will hold 17 December.

FIFA made the announcement in a statement released on their official website.

“FIFA is happy to announce that The Best FIFA Football Awards 2020 will take place on 17 December 2020.
“This year, it has been clearer than ever that nothing is more important than health. The protagonists of the game have taken on greater responsibility, not just as players, but also as role models giving hope to communities everywhere and sharing messages of unity in the face of the ongoing public health crisis.

“Following the safe resumption of competitions, thanks to a combination of hard work and solidarity across our sport, football has provided a rare source of comfort and joy to many. Thus, it is important that FIFA honour such achievements in this extraordinary year.

“In line with public health precautions and FIFA’s guiding principle that health comes first, it has been decided that the awards ceremony will be held as a virtual event only.

“Despite the special circumstances this year, FIFA will hand out prizes in the following categories in the 2020 edition of The Best FIFA Football Awards:The Best FIFA Women’s Player, The Best FIFA Men’s Player, The Best FIFA Women’s Coach, The Best FIFA Men’s Coach, The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper, The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper, FIFA FIFPRO Women’s World11, FIFA FIFPRO Men’s World11, FIFA Fair Play Award, FIFA Puskás Award, FIFA Fan Award.

“Another thing that has not changed is how The Best incorporates the views of four pillars of the footballing world. The recipients of the trophies for the top players and coaches in both women’s and men’s football will be determined through a combined voting process involving the captains and head coaches of all national teams around the globe, an online ballot of fans and submissions from a select group of more than 200 media representatives.

“Moreover, while in 2019, The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper and The Best Men’s Goalkeeper were chosen by a dedicated panel, the outstanding figures between the sticks will also be crowned by players, coaches, journalists and fans this year.

“Receiving the trophy means being recognised by those who are the heart and soul of the football community, which is what makes The Best FIFA Football Awards so special.

“Voting will start on 25 November and end on 9 December. For more information on the voting process for each of The Best FIFA Football Awards, see their respective Rules of Allocation.”

The first awarding ceremony was held on 9 January 2017 in Zurich, Switzerland. 

Cristiano Ronaldo has won it the most with two back-to-back awards for his years 2016 and 2017 respectively while Lionel Messi is the current holder after winning the award in 2019.

Copyright © 2020 All rights reserved. The information contained in may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Most Popular

Boxing legends, Mike Tyson and Roy Jones Jr. told not to knock each other out as there will be no judges in their exhibition...

American boxing legends, Mike Tyson and Roy Jones Jr will battle it out in the ring for an exhibition match on Saturday, November 28. Ahead of...

Iwobi: I Still Have A Lot To Learn Playing Right Wing-Back

Alex Iwobi says he still has a lot to learn at right wing-back but is eager to master the position. Iwobi was handed his second Premier...

The FCC rejects ZTE’s petition to stop designating it a “national security threat” – TechCrunch

The Federal Communications Commission has rejected ZTE’s petition...

Hold Rohr to Higher Standards – Sports Ministry

The Ministry of Youth and Sports Development has given the Nigerian Football Federation (NFF) the marching orders to hold Super Eagles head coach ,...

Recent Comments

%d bloggers like this: